Pink Lady® Apple Baked Cheesecake

A couple of months ago I have never made baked cheesecake before in my entire life.  It seemed like such a daunting task and so many things that could go wrong!  Now I feel like I should’ve started this cheesecake journey ages ago!

IMG_6980

The first time I tried it I made a simple white chocolate baked cheesecake and it came out perfectly; I obviously thought it was just beginners luck.  But when I made it again and again and experimenting with different flavours, I knew that this would be my favourite go to dessert for gatherings.

IMG_6979

I couldn’t wait to try it with different variations and this last weekend I had the brilliant idea to top it with my favourite Pink Lady® apples!  The addition of the caremelized apples really worked so well and the whole dessert was not sweet at all.  Give yourself the benefit of the doubt and try this recipe.  You won’t be disappointed!

Ingredients:

250gr Tennis Biscuits
125gr melted butter
500gr Mascarpone
100gr castor sugar
1tsp vanilla essence
1 tbsp cornflour
300ml sour cream
200gr white chocolate melted
5ml cinnamon
3 Pink Lady® apples sliced
60gr butter
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Method:

Line the base of a 20cm springform pan with baking paper. Process the biscuits in a food processor until finely crushed. Add the melted butter and mix until combined. Scoop biscuits into the pan and spread biscuits firmly down.  Put pan in freezer for 30min.

Preheat oven to 160C. In a stand mixer, beat mascarpone, sugar, vanilla and cinnamon until smooth.  Add the eggs one at a time and mix well after each addition.  Mix the cornflour with 50ml of the sour cream.

Add the cornflour mixture, rest of the sour cream, and melted white chocolate and beat until combined.

Pour the mixture into the biscuit base and place on a baking tray.  Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour.  Once done, switch off the oven and leave in the oven with the door closed for 2 hours.  Take out and carefully run a knife along the edge of the cheesecake and take out.  Place in the fridge for 4 hours and serve at room temperature.

For the apples:

Heat the sugar, butter and cinnamon over low heat in a frying pan and add the thinly sliced apples.  Fry apples over medium heat until well combined and soft.  Once done, arrange apple slices on cheesecake and serve!

IMG_6978

Leave a comment